What Does Daelynn Mean? Why Did You Pick That Name?

This was by far the easiest name decision that Mel and I have had to make.  Believe it or not, we actually agreed on the name 9ish years ago, while we were just dating. This is a totally normal thing to do, right? Before I explain our daughter’s name let me back up and give you the necessary qualifications of any of our kids’ names:

  1. First names must be “Biblical” (Important to Mel) and somewhat uncommon (Important to me).
  2. The meaning of the first name is important and a bonus is if the namesake in the Bible has overall positive character, and no, they don’t have to be minor prophets.
  3. Middle names are named after family.

In the years they were born, Joel’s name was ranked 138th in popularity and Micah’s 103rd, and their corresponding prophets in the Bible showed boldness in sharing God’s truth. Their meanings are also pretty awesome “The Lord is God” and “Who is like God?” Joel’s middle name is in honor of Mel’s “adopted” Grandpa and Micah shares the same middle name as my dad.

Daelynn’s name comes from much more humble origins.  As a Freshman or Sophomore in college (I’m so old now I can’t remember), while diligently taking notes in my World Civ class, I also started putting together parts of Mel’s and my names.  I don’t remember all of the combinations I came up with but Daelynn stuck (Mel’s middle name is Dale and mine is Lynn).  I can remember cautiously bringing up the idea to Mel in a conversation later—Seriously, what better way to scare off a boyfriend than talking about the names of your future children! To my delight he liked the name.

Talk of the name, Daelynn, resurfaced again when I was got pregnant in 2009 and again in 2011.  At those points I started to do a little more research.  Daelynn didn’t even make the top 1000 list of names for girls.  Dale means “Valley” and Lynn means “Waterfall” or “pool of water.”  While not directly found in the Bible, the meanings of those two names put together are beautiful displays of God’s majesty in creation. Her middle name is Marie, and is shared with my maternal grandmother.

I thought a picture might serve as a more memorable definition of the meaning of her name…

Image

Here’s another…103_0364-002

Psalm 104:1, 5-13, 31-34

Praise the Lord, my soul.

Lord my God, you are very great;
you are clothed with splendor and majesty.

He set the earth on its foundations;
it can never be moved.
You covered it with the watery depths as with a garment;
the waters stood above the mountains.
But at your rebuke the waters fled,
at the sound of your thunder they took to flight;
they flowed over the mountains,
they went down into the valleys,
to the place you assigned for them.
You set a boundary they cannot cross;
never again will they cover the earth.

10 He makes springs pour water into the ravines;
it flows between the mountains.
11 They give water to all the beasts of the field;
the wild donkeys quench their thirst.
12 The birds of the sky nest by the waters;
they sing among the branches.
13 He waters the mountains from his upper chambers;
the land is satisfied by the fruit of his work.

May the glory of the Lord endure forever;
may the Lord rejoice in his works—
32 he who looks at the earth, and it trembles,
who touches the mountains, and they smoke.

33 I will sing to the Lord all my life;
I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.
34 May my meditation be pleasing to him,
as I rejoice in the Lord.

One comment on “What Does Daelynn Mean? Why Did You Pick That Name?

  1. Love hearing how and why people choose names for their babies:)

Leave a Reply

