Coconut Flour Chocolate Chip Lactation Scones

image

I am horrible with recipes.  I don’t measure exactly and almost always loosely follow ingredient instructions. But, for the sake of others, I tried to take note of exactly how much I used of each ingredient in order to make the soft yet not too crumbly version of my “healthy” lactation scones (not quite “dessertlike” enough for me to call them cookies).  I feel like they are just sweet enough for me to look forward to eating but not SO good that I want to eat the whole batch or the batter. On days that I know that I am going to pump or go on long runs I usually eat 2-3, otherwise I usually have one with my morning tea.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Coconut Flour
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. baking soda
  • ⅓ cup sugar (you could also use honey)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup of steel cut oats
  • 4 tablespoons of flax seed meal mixed in a bowl with 4 tablespoons of water
  • 3 tablespoons of Brewer’s Yeast (makes the cookies smell like beer to me, so if you don’t mind it you could add another tablespoon or two)
  • ½ cup butter (you could use coconut oil)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • A lot of chocolate chips (6-8 oz)
  • Possibly a little extra water if the dough needs any extra moisture (I use between 2-4 tablespoons)

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚.
  2. Mix all of the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.
  3. Melt the butter or coconut oil and add to the eggs, vanilla, and flax seed meal/water mixture in a separate bowl. Mix well.
  4. Pour the dry mixture into the liquid mixture and mix until a nice dough forms.
  5. Add the chocolate chips and mix thoroughly.
  6. If any extra moisture is needed, add 1 tablespoon of water at a time and continue mixing.
  7. Grab medium chunks of dough, roll them into balls, and place on a greased cookie sheet. Flatten the scones to about ½ inch thick and seal up the edges to make the circles look nicer. They not change shape or size as they bake. I usually get about 36 in a batch this size.
  8. Bake at 350˚ for 13-15 minutes.
  9. Cool the scones on a baker’s rack. I store mine in the freezer and take them out about 30 minutes before eating them.
Leave a Reply

